13 days in. My Whole30 experience

Almost halfway in to this. How am I doing? Great!

larabarlemon

Yummy.

First off, I know this isn’t a “diet” and I know I’m breaking the rules by weighing myself during this ride, but I was just too curious to avoid the scale completely. After ten days, I had dropped five pounds without ever feeling hungry or deprived. Really.

I also think this experience is going to adjust the way I will eat long term. It’s become pretty clear to me that, even with a generally healthy diet before, I was eating too much sugar.

This eating plan appeals to me because it makes sense to avoid additives and sugars. I won’t completely avoid dairy and whole grains beyond this month, and I will look forward to having an occasional beer or glass of wine again. I also miss oatmeal, quinoa, and bread. But not in a way that makes me crave any of it.

I honestly have not had any cravings on this plan at all.

If you are considering a Whole30 experience, I would say:

  1. Recruit your spouse or a friend to join you. My husband and I are doing this together and it’s made meal planning and shopping so much easier. Plus I like that we are sharing the experience.
  2. If you are used to drinking anything in your coffee–cream, milk, sugar–the first 3-4 days are going to make you sad. I’ve been drinking black coffee, whereas my husband has quit drinking coffee altogether. Yes, he had a caffeine-withdrawal headache for a few days. I, however, did not.
  3. You will probably find yourself eating the same few meals over and over. My favorite breakfast has become a baked potato (microwaved, actually) with one or two fried eggs and salsa on top. My favorite dinner is a burrito bowl. I take shredded greens and top them with cooked, seasoned meat, and add salsa and guacamole. Mmmm.
  4. Snack bars are a lifesaver in case you do get hungry between meals (yes, I know
    bison

    Also yummy.

    snacking is discouraged), or if you find yourself somewhere at mealtime and what is being offered is non-compliant (Whole30 vocabulary). So far, my favorites are Epic Bison Cranberry bars and Turkey bars. When something sweet sounds good, I am opting for Larabars–several are compliant and my favorites are lemon and key lime pie. (I’ve also ordered coconut cream pie and can’t wait for them to arrive).

  5. Traveling can be a bitch. That seems pretty obvious. My husband, who travels every week for work has had more challenges than I, but with prior planning, and some backup snacks, he seems to be doing fine. Plus, he reports that he is feeling so good, the effort is worth it.
  6. There are a TON of resources online. If I’m at the grocery store and wonder if something is compliant, all I do is Google it. There are also several bloggers sharing some great looking recipes and great cookbooks out there. There are also Facebook and Reddit groups focusing on Whole30.
  7. Stock up on ghee and olive oil. You’ll be able to cook almost anything with these two oils and they are permitted.
  8. Focus on what you CAN eat and not on what you can’t. This is stated in so many ways when you start to browse Whole30 resources, and it’s true. What CAN I eat? Steak, salmon, shrimp, chicken, ground beef (really almost any meat), eggs, avocados, guacamole, salsa, any fruit, almond butter, most nuts, almost any vegetable–including potatoes and sweet potatoes. As far as drinks go, I’m drinking mostly water but can also have club soda, LaCroix, tea, and kombucha. Sure, this will get boring pretty fast, but doing this for a month certainly won’t be hard.

I’m entering into the promised “feel good stage” of the plan and I am really looking forward to that. I feel good now so hearing the best is yet to come sounds amazing.

Timeline of the plan is found HERE.¬†Evidently, I’m going to start wanting familiar comfort foods about now then I’m supposed to feel especially energetic and strong starting at day 16.

I guess we’ll see. I’ll let you know.

________________________________________________________________

whole30

From the Whole30 website

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jen Slayden on May 12, 2017 at 6:18 am

    Great job Gail!! I am starting this today;) with Grace!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

