Whole 30 Diet-Day 1

whole

whole30.com

Let’s try this.

As a rule, I eat a healthy diet. I generally steer away from processed foods, I loathe most fast food choices, and I usually pay attention to my protein intake and I incorporate juicing into my regular diet. You could say I’m on the kale, Greek yogurt, and quinoa bandwagon–mostly.

I’ve been vaguely aware of the Whole 30 diet for the past couple of years but wrote it off as being far too restrictive because there are so many foods that are “not allowed.” Most nutritionists would argue that foods like whole grains, yogurts, and even an occasional glass of wine, are healthy and should be part of a normal diet for most people. I like the idea of a re-set of sorts, though, and that’s what this diet promises to be.

Here’s how the Whole 30 website describes the diet: “The Whole30 is, at its heart, an elimination diet. Just a small amount of any of these inflammatory foods could break the healing cycle; promoting cravings, messing with blood sugar, disrupting the integrity of your digestive tract, and (most important) firing up the immune system.”

I’m intrigued. If this gives me more energy and helps me drop those stubborn five pounds I can’t seem to get ride of, why not try it?

I also think I’ve got my husband talked into joining me so that will provide me with a lot of motivation.

So, for a month, we will give up dairy, carbs, and alcohol. It’s going to be difficult for me because a typical breakfast is oatmeal and yogurt, and it’s not unusual for me to consider cheese, crackers, and wine a perfectly satisfying dinner.

I’ll check in later and let you know how it is going.

Leave a Reply

