2016 Wasatch Back Ragnar Relay

Date: June 18 & 19, 2016

Distance: 188.4 miles

Location: Logan to Midway, Utah

Team of 12, then 11  

Time: 31-ish?

After taking a year off, I returned to Ragnar and got to run with the Westminster havemorefun“Staggering Parsons” again. This was my sixth time running the Wasatch Back, and–as always–had a blast. The team included two people who weren’t directly affiliated with Westminster, but who were friends of team members. The rest, however, included the Provost, professors, staff members, and a graduate of the college. I was especially happy to run with another aviation colleague–until Avon Pass took him out mid-race. That was a bummer and I hope he’ll be back next year.

I was assigned to be runner #2. A position I hadn’t ever run. It was slated to offer the second-highest mileage, until two others in my van picked up extra legs to cover for our injured teammate. They ended up putting in over 20 miles each, with their added legs, but didn’t seem to be phased at all.roster

My first leg was an 8.6-miler that started at 6:30 a.m. on Friday morning. This leg took me through Hyrum, Utah and meandered slightly uphill. I took it easy and finished in an hour-and-a-half.

My second leg, which started around 6:30 p.m. went through a residential area in Morgan, Utah. It was only 4.2 miles, but it was by far my most difficult. The 300+ foot elevation gain, coupled with 90-degree heat, made for a not-fun run. Thankfully, lots of kids were poised in their front yards, ready to spray down passing runners with garden hoses and Super Soakers. This short run took me a slow, 50 minutes to finish.

The final leg I ran in Coalville, was a 5-miler that started at 4:15 a.m. on Saturday morning. I don’t like having to run in the dark, but I was rewarded with a beautiful sunrise as I finished this leg less than an hour later. Had I been able to keep up with the chatty woman I ran with for the first two miles, I would have finished much faster. Alas, I had to hold back.

I’m already looking forward to next year and hope we can put together an all-out Westminster team, complete with Westminster running gear, vans, and swag. I’ll work on that…

Thanks, team, for another great Wasatch Back weekend!

marksphoto

Key memories: HOT, unclear turnoffs, less-than-stellar finish area, breakfast burritos, best three-hour sleep in the van ever, and fun buffs.

Instagram: #staggeringparsons

Leave a Reply

