Reboot Day 1 Report

I started my 5-day juicing reboot yesterday and decided to follow a plan shared by the Reboot with Joe website. (See yesterday’s post for details).

Mean Green & Sunny Citrus

Mean Green & Sunny Citrus

Because I’ve done this before, I knew to expect to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. All the prep work and clean up is pretty time consuming. I also know how hard it is to follow any sort of strict diet with a teenager in the house. As I dutifully followed my fruit and vegetable liquid diet, my 17-year-old son enjoyed a BLT sandwich, pot stickers, and more. I also woke up to see a can of Pringles on the kitchen counter–evidence that he had made a late night snack run.

Oh, to have that youthful metabolism again.

Day 1 was easy; I knew it would be. I think the juices taste pretty good, and I also know how great this process will make me feel–that’s the best motivation. I know also, from previous experience, that days 3-5 will be the hardest.

And, can I say? The Pear Pie juice is REALLY yummy. This was my first time trying it and I’m a huge fan.

Mean Green Juice (2 servings)

2 cucumbers

8 celery stalks

4 apples

16 leaves kale (I substituted handfuls of spinach)

1 lemon (I used half)

2 inches of ginger (I used about half)

 

Sunny Citrus Juice (2 servings)

4 beets

1 grapefruit

2 lemons (I used 1)

4 carrots

1 knob of tumeric (I used ginger)

Pear Pie with raspberries

Pear Pie with raspberries

 

Peach or Pear Pie (the recipe suggests this makes one serving, but I found that it made enough for two–maybe my sweet potato was too large)

1 sweet potato (may substitute yam, jicama, or squash)

2 pears (may substitute peaches or nectarines)

1 apple

1 1/3 cups of blueberries (I used raspberries; blackberries would also work)

Dash of ground cinnamon

 

Note: These three juices were not all I consumed. The plan calls for 5 juices and coconut water or vegetable broth along with making sure to drink lots of water throughout the day. When I juice, I do not feel hungry at all.

Leave a Reply

