Dirty Dash 5K

Date: September 9, 2015

Distance: 5K

Location: Midway, Utah

Time: ?? 

I agreed to run this race with colleagues and students from work. I had never run an obstacle course race before but knew friends who had. “Why not?” I thought. I’ll try almost anything once.

I made sure to wear an old pair of running shoes that were in my donation pile. Heaven forbid I should ruin any of my “real” running shoes.Halfway through.

We lucked out with the weather, but there was some miscommunication about our group’s start time so half of us started at an earlier time and half of us started later. Still, we had fun and definitely got muddy–which, I guess, was the point.

Did I like spending the afternoon laughing with people from work? Oh, yeah. Did I like seeing what these types of races are all about? Sure. Did I love the race experience itself? Mmmmm. Not so much. I would do it again for the same fun, teamwork-building reasons I did it this year, but there were two main things I didn’t particularly like: the risk of significant injury and the long waiting lines at some of the obstacles.

The race took about three hours to finish because of the slow going through mud and water and also for the long lines at both the water slide and the rope bridge crossing.

I was pretty scraped up for the next few days after the race, but all-in-all, it was fun and I will probably do it again next year if we put together another team.

Leave a Reply

