2014 Wasatch Back Ragnar Relay

Date: June 27 & 28, 2014

Distance: 196.4 miles

Location: Logan to Park City, Utah

Team of 12 

Time: 32-ish?18ShirtMedal
This year marked the fifth time I’ve run the Wasatch Back, I hadn’t been planning on it until a campus-wide email announced the need for additional team members on the Westminster team, “Staggering Parsons” (a reference to our pre-Griffin mascot).

As always, I enjoyed the weekend. This year, in particular, gave me the opportunity to get to hang out with co-workers I don’t usually get to spend much time with. Staff and faculty alike comprised the team–along with two non-Westminster runners. Primarily, our team included folks from Student Life and the School of Arts and Sciences. And, I believe this will be the most highly educated team I will ever run with. Annie and I joked about how we were relegated to the back of the van as we, from our backseat perspectives, realized that we merely held master’s degrees while the rest of our van mates held PhDs.

Overall, the race went well. The weather mostly cooperated and the weekend, as always, was filled with sleep deprived laughter and fun.

This year, I was runner #4, which meant  that I took on one of the easier sets of legs. That worked well for me since I would be running the Missoula Half just two weeks later.Finish line

Will I run another Ragnar Relay? Yep, probably. These weekends always give me the chance to get to know people in entirely new contexts, and that makes it very, very fun.

 

 

Leave a Reply

