Me time

Date: April 14, 2013

Distance: 9.93 miles (I know, I should have gone the few extra yards to make it an even ten).

Time: 1:57:53

_________________________________________________

me time

from Google images

It’s been so long since I’ve run, I’m surprised I could find my running shoes.

My week-long vacation in Hawaii put me in the “be lazy and enjoy the food and drinks” mindset that most vacations tend to do. And then, unfortunately, I was hit with a pretty bad cold right when I got back home which forced me to put off my runs and yoga sessions even further.

I’ll also admit that the past few days I felt well enough to resume my workouts but lacked motivation. “It’s too cold.” “It’s too dark.” “I’m too busy.” “I really need to (fill in blank) instead.” You get the idea.

Yesterday, I paid the price.

I was hit with a migraine headache–only the fifth or sixth one I’ve ever had–and I’m sure it was triggered by the fact that I haven’t been exercising and I decided it would be a good idea to eat three sugar-laden donuts.

Wake up call.

Put simply, I was reminded that I feel great when I am eating well and exercising regularly; I feel like crap when I don’t.

Just two days ago, I was talking with someone who shared with me that her doctor has told her she needs to lose weight and has instructed her to start exercising. While she acknowledged that would be a good idea, she said, “I’m just really busy and when I have to choose between exercise or ‘me time,’ I choose ‘me time.'”

Her comment sounded so odd to me because, to me, exercise IS “me time.” Going out for a run or attending a 90-minute yoga class often feels like an indulgence to me. It’s time when no one bothers me and when I am forced only to focus and breathe. Sure, I also know that exercising is good for me and I know it’s something I should do, but I also get so much reward from it. When I’m running or in a yoga class, I can’t do laundry, wash dishes, check email, pay bills, or whatever other mundane chores fill my daily life.

It’s all about mindset. If we look at exercising as a chore, we often avoid it. If we look at exercise as medicinal and therapeutic, we would find more reasons to fit it into our daily life.

I know, for me, running and yoga are my therapy and my medication. It’s not selfish for me to take the time to exercise–it’s absolutely essential to my well-being.

Leave a Reply

