Day 2 of Juice Fast

Today’s Theme: Plan ahead–this juicing stuff takes time.

Going on a juice fast requires a lot of planning. Not only do you need to stock up on pounds and pounds of fresh fruits and vegetables, but you must

from nakedjuice.com

from nakedjuice.com

also spend a lot of time preparing the produce for juicing–washing, slicing, and sometimes peeling. I now have numerous zip-lock storage bags and Tupperware containers filling the shelves and drawers of my refrigerator with pineapple chunks, carrot slices, washed leafy veggies, berries, and the like.

The juicing process itself only takes about five minutes, but then there’s the cleanup. Juice machines have a lot of parts that need to be washed right away after juicing and that takes awhile. Breakfast, for example, can no longer be a two-minute “pour a cup of coffee and smear some cream cheese on a bagel, done” sort of effort. More like twenty minutes–and that’s if you have most or all of your fruits and veggies already prepared.

And then there are the days when you have to be away from home at mealtimes.

Yesterday, day one of my juice fast, was easy because I had the day off and was home most of the day. I had the time to not only prepare, juice, and clean up, but I had the luxury of not having to prepare juices ahead of time to get me through the whole day. When I was hungry, I simply walked to my kitchen and made some juice.

Today is a different story. I have to work a full day and go to class afterwards. I left the house at 8:00 a.m. and won’t be back home until after 8:30 p.m. These types of days will be the most challenging.

As of now I only have two good “go” cups that work well for juice so I know I’ll end up buying something from the cafeteria–perhaps a Naked Juice since I know they sell those. Not as good as juicing my own due to the expense, but fine in a pinch. I’ll just read labels carefully to make sure I’m not inadvertently getting something that has additives or preservatives.

On a side note, I was happy to learn that in just one day I dropped 3.5 pounds of the 5 I gained over the weekend and I honestly didn’t feel hungry yesterday.

I’m not doing this juice fast for weight loss, but I’m sure it’s inevitable and if I drop a few, I certainly won’t complain. I have a vacation coming up soon and I know I’m more than capable of making up any lost pounds with vacation food and drink.

____________________________________________________

Update: I ended up not getting a Naked Juice later in the day–I simply wasn’t hungry. Three juices and one cup of tea were all I had during the day, but I felt great.

Leave a Reply

