Day 1 of Juice Fast

Today’s Theme: I can do anything for a day.

This week's juice pack.

This week’s juice pack.

I’ve been prompted to try a week-long juice fast after watching a couple of documentaries and see it as a fun way to “reboot” my way into healthier eating. (See my post, “Keeping it Real” for more of an explanation).

I tend to have pretty healthy eating habits for the most part, but I will also admit to having a weakness for breads, pastas, and sweets. And, while I usually don’t overdo it, I certainly did during this past weekend. Race weekends tend to bring out my weaknesses and I love celebrating that 13.1 mile run with lots of foods I generally try to avoid–we’re talking beer, nachos, wings, cheese fries, pulled pork sandwiches, and onion rings. Decadent and worth every calorie and fat gram!

I certainly can’t eat that way every day, though, and a weekend such as that is a great lead-in to a week-long, detoxifying diet of fruits and vegetables. Most of all, I’m simply curious to see if I can get through it and what it will be like.

My participation in the Bountiful Baskets Food Coop has made such an endeavor much easier. Almost every week, I submit my participation request on Monday and look forward to picking up inexpensive, fresh produce the following Saturday. I never know exactly what will be included in each week’s offerings, but I’ve never been disappointed. 

Each week, Bountiful Baskets will also include items they call “add-ons”. These are offerings that usually aren’t available every week and might include things like granola, breads, cases of fruit, honey, olive oil, etc.

Lately, a “juice pack” has been a fairly regular offering. This tells me that I’m not alone in my juicing endeavors. It also makes my juicing adventure that much easier to try.

This week’s juicing pack included apples, oranges, ginger, red kale, celery, carrots, beets, cilantro, lemons, and limes. And that, folks, is a pretty good summary of the fruits and vegetables most commonly juiced. (Although I see spinach, berries, pears, pineapple, parsley, and fennel in a lot of juicing recipes too).

In reality, almost every fruit or vegetable can be juiced (with the exception of bananas and avocados).

I also ordered the 40-pounds of oranges that were specially offered this week so I am set. I have a wide variety of fruits and vegetables to get me through the week.

juicer

From slowjuicer.com. Hey, if Martha Stewart uses it…

Prior to embarking on this juice fast, I already had a good source of juicing produce so all I needed was a juicer. Blenders are great for smoothies, but not juicing. If you truly want to juice, you’ll need to break down and buy a juicer.

After doing a bit of online research (and considering the types of juicers I could get using my Costco discount), I decided to get a Hurom Slow Juicer. It’s a “middle-of-the-road” model that, so far, has worked well. You may be surprised that a juicer can cost upwards of $800 or more if you want to buy top-of-the-line. Ouch. (And no, I did not spend anywhere near that).

One feature that was important to me, however, was that it be able to easily juice greens such as kale and spinach. (Not all are that great with fibrous greens but this one is.)

The week ahead.

I look forward to keeping a daily update of my week-long juicing efforts and I don’t expect it will be easy–especially since I’m continuing to cook regular meals for the rest of my family.

As I write this, my kids are enjoying chicken tamales with rice and I’m trying to decide what to juice with all the bok choy and green peppers I have in my fridge!

Leave a Reply

