Keeping it real.

Everybody’s doing it.

Or, so it would seem if you spend any amount of time on the internet looking for information about juicing or juicers.

I joined the bandwagon this past week by purchasing a home juicing machine and now I am one of thousands blogging about my experience.

This new juicing venture was prompted by my interest in healthy eating, my participation in a food co-op, and by the fact that I finally sat down and watched a couple of documentaries I’ve been meaning to see.

The two movies: “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead,” and “Hungry for Change,” do an excellent job of explaining how we, as a nation, are making ourselves sick from our food choices. We are battling obesity and a myriad of illnesses that are influenced or even caused by our addiction to fast food, our reliance on processed foods, and our tendency to treat diseases such as high blood pressure and diabetes with medication rather than lifestyle changes.

These messages resonate with me. And, while I’ll resist getting on a rant about large corporations and drug manufacturers, I know that our society is to blame for most of this.

The two main characters in “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead,” go on a sort of opposite Morgan Spurlock (Supersize Me) endeavor and decide to tackle their obesity and health ailments by drinking only juice for sixty (60) days. While the ultimate results were quite positive–both lost shocking amounts of weight, both were able to discontinue taking all of their many medications, and both reported having higher levels of energy and clarity–that is an extreme approach and is not a diet plan that someone could (or should) follow for a long-term basis.

Rather, I see juicing as a way to incorporate healthier eating into one’s regular diet and completing a shorter-term “juice fast” is a better way for most of us to (using Joe Cross’s term from “Sick, Fat, and Nearly Dead”) “reboot” one into a healthier lifestyle.

The purpose for a reboot is to mentally and physically recharge your body with clean, pure foods that are easy to digest and packed with micro-nutrients for some specified period of time.

In addition to the 60-day juice fast option, other formal plans offer 30-day fasts, 15-day fasts, 10-day fasts, one week fasts, or even just three-day fasts.

I would like to undertake a week-long juice fast and then continue to incorporate juice into my regular diet. This fits with my desire to eat more raw, natural foods and avoid foods that include lots of preservatives. It also happens to be a way I can utilize all of the produce I always seem to have in my house.

My plan is to get through next Saturday’s Half Marathon race (and the carbo-loading the entire weekend is sure to bring), and then undertake my own juice fast experiment.

I’ll make sure to share the results.

But first, I am really looking forward to enjoying my pre- and post-race carbs!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Love juicing! I started years ago then stopped. Then to celebrate my segue into veganism from a 25-year vegetarian lifestyle, I bought another one. But not long after that I saw an infomercial about the Magic Bullitt – small, easy clean-up, and perfect for single-serving healthy smoothies. So, now I’m hooked! 😉 It’s the perfect supplement my vegan diet.
    I’m planning to run my first half in the fall. So far, have a 5k and a 10-miler planned before that.
    Wishing you a successful run on Saturday! 😉

    Vicki

    Reply

  2. […] and seeing it as a fun way to “reboot” my way into healthier eating. (See my post, “Keeping it Real” for more of an […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

