Two hours on a treadmill? Ugh.

Date: February 22, 2013

Distance: 11.3

Time: 2:04

In preparation for my next race (Nashville in two weeks), I had one last one run to complete before I taper. As luck would have it, the morning I wanted to run eleven miles, we experienced blizzard conditions.

So, rather than run down picturesque Emigration Canyon, as I had hoped to do, I packed up my gear and headed to the gym and mentally prepared myself for two hours on the treadmill.

I’m thankful for having my gym as an option–I can choose between an indoor running track or treadmills, and my gym is inexpensive, never crowded, and a great option for bad weather days.

But who likes to complete their long runs indoors? It’s so BOOOORRRRINGGG!

Granted, it’s boring. But, there are some perks too.

1. Your water and any mid-run snacks are close at hand and not weighing you down. You don’t have to carry them!

2. Even in the middle of winter you can run in shorts and a t-shirt. No extra layers needed.

3. You can guarantee that you will run negative splits because the speed controls are right in front of you.

4. You can get creative with the treadmill settings to combat boredom. Maybe you decide to throw in some random inclines, or perhaps you can adjust speed settings based on distance. Heck, it’s even a great opportunity to practice math skills. “If I want to finish this in under two hours, how fast do my last two miles need to be?”

A quick online search can provide you with lots of great treadmill workouts that can help combat the boredom of the treadmill. So, the next time bad weather keeps you indoors, you can still knock out those runs.

P.S. Music helps immensely!

Leave a Reply

