no impending race=no motivation to run

The holidays, the shorter daylight hours, and the colder weather have all given me lots of excuses to slack off. Yes, they are weak excuses, but they are excuses I have readily been using nonetheless.

from google images

My next scheduled race isn’t until March 9th–a full fifteen weeks away. That means I’ve gotten sucked into complacency. I’ve simply lost my motivation to put in all of my training runs because, with so much time until my next race, it’s been far too easy for me to tell myself, “It’s too cold, it’s too dark, I’m too tired, blah, blah, blah.”

Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t completely given up my workouts. I’m still walking or running at least three days a week and I’m getting to yoga twice a week. It’s just that I’m doing far more walking than running, and I’m putting in less distance than I normally would if I had a race scheduled sooner than I do.

I’m feeling lethargic as a result. Thursday’s 4.45 mile run was challenging when it should have been easy. And, with the Thanksgiving weekend indulgences, I’m feeling the weight creep back on as well.

I always tell people that one reason I sign up for so many races is so I have motivation to work out and these last few weeks have proven that.

Where is my motivation? I just have to find it again.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Klea Gallegos on November 24, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Gail, Don’t be so hard on yourseld. You deserve to back off a little bit. The fact that you are aware is an important step. You are going to be juat fine.

    I have been out of commission for 6 weeks. I hurt my knee in Hawaii boogie boarding like a 10 year old. I am going back into the doctor on Monday for the next phase of tests. The weather has been so mild I am going stir crazy not being able to run. However, I am telling myself that if there is pain then something is wrong and it is not worth it. This too shall pass. We will have to meet up and run together. I know that a running bussy always keeps me going.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

