Instead of my weight, can we talk about my new tattoo?

Date: July 11, 2012

I know that no one anxiously awaits each Wednesday with news about my latest weigh in, but for anyone keeping track, here’s my report after skipping last week.

I didn’t post my weight loss status last week because, well, it wasn’t good news. Let’s just say road trip combined with family reunion vacation  feasting didn’t help my efforts very much.

After returning home, I had a newfound resolve to get back on track and had an amazing week. I didn’t cheat once and even doubled-up on workouts on a couple of days. The pounds were dropping back down and I was fully expecting to be at least back where I was two weeks ago (at a 6.5 pound total loss so far).

Yesterday’s weight check confirmed that I was at 6 pounds of total loss and I was certain that one more day of discipline would allow me to shed that remaining half pound and I could at least report today that I was even and at least hadn’t gained.

What?! I stepped on the scale this morning and it claimed I had only lost 4.5 total pounds and that I had GAINED 1.5 pounds from the previous day, despite the fact that I followed my diet plan.

That sucks.

I need results in order to stay motivated! If I’m going to gain weight, at least I could be enjoying some pizza and margaritas while doing so. Sheesh.

I just have to trust that, overall, my efforts will pay off. Sometimes weight loss is not consistent from day to day, but the real changes need to be seen over a longer period of time. Besides, after all the Pilates and yoga classes I’ve been taking, I’m building muscle, I’m certain of it.

So, the plan is to keep on keeping on and eventually I’ll get to where I want to be.

_______________________

So, about that tattoo. After talking about the possibility of getting tattoos for a long time, my husband and I finally went in yesterday and got matching tattoos in honor of the baby we lost two years ago. We spent a lot of time deciding what we wanted, where we wanted them, and who we should choose to do the work.

The picture I’m posting isn’t ideal because it was taken only two hours after they were done and I was still bruised and red, but I wanted to share what they look like. They include exact copies of Mia’s footprints, along with angel wings. I’m really happy with the results and the tattoo artist assures me that my new tattoo will make me run faster.

Well, I don’t know about that, but at least it will look really cool in a racerback tank.

I would obviously prefer to not have a reason to get a memorial tattoo, but we do have a reason and this is one more way to feel connected to our baby and one more way for my husband and I to feel connected to each other. I will wear it with both sadness and resolve and in some small way, I already feel stronger because of it.

One response to this post.

  1. I am tearing up. Love it. Love your tattoo, and you. And YES…it will make you run faster…you will be FLYING:)
    So how about Portland?
    xo
    Jen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

