A playlist for the rest of us

Date: May 19, 2012

Distance: 10 miles

Time: 1:52:11

Just got back from my last long run before Minneapolis. Now it’s TAPER TIME!

amazon.com

The next two weeks will consist of four Pilates classes, one spin class, and only five easy runs ranging from three to six miles. Easy!  I’m feeling really good going into this race and I’m looking forward to seeing Caree and Nis–running pals in several races I’ve completed. All three of us are working towards a 50-states goal, but Caree keeps showing us up by choosing to run more full marathons than halfs. Believe me, I’m just fine with cheering her on from the sidelines after I complete my 13.1.  You rock, Caree!

Today’s run was absolutely perfect–a cloudless sky, no wind, and 66 degrees. Wish they could all be this perfect.

I ran a course near my house that, while hilly, is great to run on because the first (and last) two miles are a paved bike/running trail with no car traffic and the part that is along the road has wide shoulders. The views are great–overlooking the city and along the foothills of the Wasatch range. Love it.

Did fairly well with my splits even with the hills.

15:18 (walked the first half mile), 11:39, 11:04, 10:45, 10:20, 11:10, 9:37 (major downhill during a portion of this mile), 10:37, 11:34 (uphill), 10:09 (downhill).

I also enjoyed today’s run because I was trying out a new playlist. It includes just the right mix of homage to my youth while still making me feel like I have some street cred with my kids. Here are the songs that got me through ten miles:

Time for Me to Fly: REO Speedwagon

Like a Prayer: Madonna

Turn Me Loose: Loverboy

Under Pressure: David Bowie

Take Your Mamma Out: Scissor Sisters

Take On Me: A-ha

I Melt with You: Modern English

A Little Respect: Erasure

Just Can’t Get Enough: Depeche Mode

Closer to Free: BoDeans

Runnin’ Down a Dream: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

The Edge of Glory: Lady Gaga

Tonight is the Night: Outasight

Dynamite: Taio Cruz

Sexy Bitch: David Guetta

You Make Me Feel Good: Cobra Starship

Good Feeling: Flo Rida* My new favorite. (Thanks, Keil).

I Gotta Feeling: Black Eyed Peas

Check Yes, Juliet: We The Kings

Harder to Breathe: Maroon 5

Wake Up Call: Maroon 5

Supermassive Black Hole: Muse

Moves Like Jagger: Maroon 5

There’s Only One Way to Rock: Sammy Hagar

Praise You: Fatboy Slim

It’s a Wonderful Night: Fatboy Slim

One Thing Leads to Another: The Fixx

Come Out and Play: The Offspring

________________________

There’s more on the playlist I’ve labeled, “Minneapolis 2012,” but I’ll have to wait until race day to hear the rest.

P.S. Don’t do a Google search of “Perfect Running Playlist” unless you love Kanye West, Pitbull, and Kelly Clarkson.

Leave a Reply

