Negative splits. NOT

Image

vitacoco.com

Date: April 8, 2012

Distance: 11.02 miles

Time: 2:00:54

Glorious Easter run, although I got a little carried away and started off way too fast and then paid the price at the end.

At first, I intended to do a gym workout today but the 70-degree temperature and clear blue sky beckoned. I had my husband drive me 11 miles up Emigration Canyon and drop me off. That’s one sure way to make certain to get the intended mileage in.

If you are from Utah, you know how beautiful the mountains are. We are surrounded by pristine landscapes and we sometimes take it for granted because we are so used to them. Today, I took it all in and appreciated the natural beauty all around and began my run, surrounded by snow-covered mountains.

In addition to being outside, I was looking forward to this run for a couple of other reasons as well–I had just downloaded some new running music on my iPod and the eleven-mile run was all downhill. I couldn’t wait to begin.

I guess I got the adrenaline going a bit too much right from the beginning either due to my motivating music, the downhill course, or the simple fact that I wasn’t paying attention to much else other than the mountain views around me.

For whatever reason, I looked down at my Garmin at about mile four and realized that I had been running nine-minute miles. Oops. I knew right then that I was going to hit a wall before my training run was completed. Nine-minute miles are too fast for this old lady. To put things into perspective, a two-hour half marathon averages out to 9:10 per mile. My ultimate goal would be to run a sub-two hour half, but it’s likely not going to happen. The best I’ve ever run has been 2:03 and that was about five years ago.

Anyway, runners are advised to attempt to have negative splits–that’s defined as running the second half of a race faster than the first. Or, running each consecutive mile faster than the previous. That ensures that you don’t deplete your energy early on and hit the proverbial wall before the race is over.

I certainly did NOT do that today and it was a good illustration why training runs are so important in preparation for races. Figure out your strategies BEFORE any planned race and you won’t make mistakes when it matters.

Since I’m dishing out advice, here’s more…

1. Chocolate milk IS a good post-recovery workout snack. At the very least, it’s yummy.

2. Coconut water is good for hydration. Depending on what source you read, it is sometimes touted as being as good as or better than drinks such as Gatorade or Powerade. I like the taste and I like that it’s natural. The kind I buy is pure coconut water–no additives. I filled my water bottle today with half coconut water and half filtered water. That’s a strategy I’ll probably keep. Also yummy.

3. Vanilla Bean Gu is the best, but Espresso Love is a close second. I do NOT recommend chocolate or margarita flavors. A real margarita or real chocolate post race, however, is highly recommended.

4. Bodyglide is one of the best inventions ever. I’ll spare you the full details.

5. A motivating playlist can get you through anything. Latest song recommendation? Check Yes, Juliet by We the Kings.

Nashville Half is less than one month away. Foot is good, training is going well, and I can’t wait to run this race with mi esposo. Should be a very fun weekend.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Debi on April 8, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    I’ll add Clif’s Mocha as a yummy gel and if you can’t have dairy, Silk’s Dark Chocolate Almond Milk is great! I’ve put EmergenC’s Electromix in my water bottles but like the idea of coconut water – will try it on my next long run. You’re wonderful, Gail!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

