Cross training with the Ws

Date: March 18, 2012

Time: 2 hours

Google images

Distance: ?

According to my training plan, I was supposed to run 9 miles today. Because my foot isn’t 100% healed, I decided to hit the gym instead and do some low impact cross-training.

I started off by finding the latest download on my iPod: “Walk” by the Foo Fighters. Great song–I’m adding it to my suggested running playlist. After listening to that one as I worked out on the stationary bike, I decided to just let the rest of the songs play alphabetically. Never did get through all the songs that start with “w” on my iPod and I worked out for two hours! After 30 minutes on the bike, I did 30 minutes on the elliptical, followed by 30 minutes of recumbent bike, and 30 minutes of weights–upper body. I had planned to finish things off with a 30-minute jog, but my legs felt like rubber so I quit about 3 minutes into my run; besides, it was time to get back home and start dinner for the kids.

Random thoughts about some of the W songs I currently have on my iPod:

1. Why do I have four versions of “Walk this Way”?

2. The Christmas song, “What Child is This” is not a great workout tune. Skip.

3. I remember listening to “The Walk” by the Cure one time in particular as I ran on an indoor running track while in college. Still listening to that song as I work out today–25 years later.

4. Dire Straits’ “Walk of Life” is one of my favorite songs and reminds me of a dear friend who passed away a few years ago. Rest in peace, Professor Dan Taylor. I’ll always think of you when I hear Mark Knopfler play guitar. He was your favorite.

5. “Walkie Talkie Man” by Steriogram has the best line: “He’s fat and he don’t run too fast, but he’s faster than me.” Made me chuckle. Haven’t listened to that one in a while. Also being added to my suggested running playlist.

6.  I love the intro to “We Got it Going On” by Bon Jovi.

7. “We Rock” by Dio is great to run to. An oldie but a goodie. Also adding.

8. Surprisingly, “When Doves Cry” by Prince really got me going even though the tempo is pretty slow. LOVE that song despite the fact that my husband gives me the “oh, gross” eye-roll look any time he hears it. Actually, he does that with any Prince song.

9. Why did I let my son download a Weird Al Yankovic song? SKIP!

Looking forward to my next workout so I can continue with the W songs…listening to my playlist in alphabetical order sure helps me to rediscover songs that I haven’t heard lately.

Do you have any favorite workout songs that I should add to my “W” list? I always welcome suggestions.

Thanks for reading and happy running…

2 responses to this post.

  1. We Are the Champions……haha just kidding!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

