Nevermind

So, after over five weeks of being in the boot, it appears as though that hasn’t done much to repair my damaged tendons.

Google images

As my doc said today, “you can look at the glass as being half empty and think that you just wasted five weeks of post-surgery recovery time OR you can look at the glass as being half full and be happy that you tried all available alternatives before you tried surgery.”

Not sure if I’m in the “glass half empty” or the “glass half full” camp.

He did have one last piece of advice. My continued soreness might be partially related to simply being in the boot and not using my foot muscles the way they were designed to be used. So, he suggests not wearing the boot for two weeks in one last-ditch effort to see if that alleviates some of the general overall soreness I’m feeling.

If, after two weeks I still feel achy, then I am to call him to get some surgeon referrals.

Anyone have a different glass? Maybe a shot glass or a wine glass?

The journey continues…

3 responses to this post.

  1. NOOOOO….
    I’m sympathizing so much with you right now Gail.
    I think next time we meet with the Portland group, you and I are going to be doing half glass full of something extreme!

    Wishing and hoping and praying that last ditch effort will do the trick!!
    xo
    Jen

    Reply

  2. Posted by angie on January 25, 2012 at 7:15 am

    I liked those full glasses we had at breakfast with Jorge!! I’m so sorry the boot didn’t do what you wanted. I feel like if you have surgery, I should fly down and bring you swedish fish. Someone wonderful did that for me once – I wonder who it was? Love you and hope your 2 week break works wonders!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anne Graham on January 25, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Oh Gail, I’m so sorry. You are so devoted to running and I know how much it must hurt your well-being not to be getting out there. I hope that you’re trying other ways of being good to yourself while you try to recover. Huge luck to you over the next couple of weeks!

    Anne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

