It’s always better with a buddy

I hesitate to even write this post because it is so predictable and cliché.

Here it is, the end of the year and my New Year’s resolution is…(cue the drum roll)…eat healthier and lose ten pounds.

Google images

Nothing surprising with that goal–especially since I make the same resolution almost every year.

This year, however, the goal might be a little more difficult to obtain since I am still stuck in a boot and unable to run. I have always counted on my running to help me keep my weight in check. This time, though, running is not yet an option and, with the holiday binge eating I’ve enjoyed over the past two weeks, I’m paying the price.

I can, however, always count on my BFF, Denise, to provide me with moral support and camaraderie as I work on eating healthier and working out. She shares my resolution this year and we have agreed to keep each other accountable and provide the necessary encouragement as we both work towards our own weight loss and exercise goals. After all, we’ve been dieting together on and off since college. We know the drill.

Our first official weigh in will be January 3rd and we’ll report to each other weekly until we get to see each other in person in New Orleans in March. We’ve planned for quite some time to run the New Orleans Rock and Roll Half Marathon together, along with a couple of other friends. I’m really looking forward to the trip.

Between now and March 4th I’ll be substituting my runs with workouts on the stationary bike and I’ll keep doing yoga and other cross-training. It will be nice when I can add running workouts to my exercise plan–and I am still hoping to be able to run–or at least finish–the race. Not sure yet how realistic that plan is. I’ll keep you posted.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Diane Fosnocht on January 1, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    You can do this! I have had set backs with heel injuries, rotator cuff surgery, and back pain. just vary your schedule, stay committed and have faith in yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

