Let’s get ripped in thirty

I’m depressed. My foot still hurts and I want to eat the entire cake that is in my fridge to compensate. I know, I know. “Stay AWAY from the cake.” Okay. Maybe I’ll open a bottle of wine and get a different kind of ripped. Tempting.

I go in on Wednesday for an MRI on my foot to learn how badly damaged my peroneal tendon is. According to my doc, I may have a lateral tear that could need surgery. After weeks of physical therapy and no real improvement, I’ve got to consider that might be an option.

At this point, I don’t even want to think about that so I’ll write about the Jillian Michael’s DVD that recently kicked my butt instead.

Feeling frustrated about my running, needing to find some physical outlet, and lured by the possibility that I truly COULD get “ripped in thirty,” I succumbed to aggressive marketing techniques and bought the damn DVD.

Here’s my professional review.

1. Jillian Michaels is annoying. If I hear her yell, “Are you gonna show up or just phone it in?!” or “I want you to be able to bounce a quarter off your butt” one more time, I think I will scream.

2. The first two weeks hurt my abs. That proved to me that I really do need to work on core strength. I’m an utter weakling. After four weeks, though, I can now do planks, push ups, and crunches without being in agony so that’s a plus.

3. The variety was nice. The DVD includes four separate workouts and each workout was only 20-25 minutes long. LOVE that. I plan to keep the DVD in my cross-training rotation–along with my “Yoga for Runners” DVD.

4. You’ll need a set of three-pound weights and perhaps a set of five-pound weights. The upper body strengthening was good too.

5. I did not lose weight. But that’s only because I tried being on a diet for only the first week then said, “What the hell, it’s Thanksgiving” followed by, “What the hell, it’s my birthday.” Followed by, “What the hell, that cake recipe looks good.”

So, in summary, I recommend the workouts–especially if you turn off the volume. Good cross-training option for building strength.

Now…if I could only go running and find the willpower to quit consolation eating…wish me luck.

4 responses to this post.

  1. BOOO about your foot. I am so bummed for you! But I appreciate your review on the DVD. I certainly need to do some more core and strength training. (Don’t I always say this?)

    I am sad for you. I hate it when I can’t run. But I am so proud of you for finding a way to continue staying fit during this challenging time. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. xo
    Jen

    Reply

  2. Posted by Debi on December 13, 2011 at 5:34 am

    Thanks for the review – I have some yoga DVDs but need to start the strength training I promised myself I’d start right after my last race in November. Hope your next trip to the doctor gets your foot pain figured out. ❤

    Reply

  3. Posted by Denise Lampi-Kok on December 13, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I didn’t realize your foot was so bad. I am so sorry ! I actually love the Ripped in 30 with Jillian and her strangeness. However, I kind of quit after week 2. It does make me realize what I have to work on. If you need surgery, New Orleans may not be an option for you. You have to get it healed 😦 Positive thoughts !!! Love you ! Denise

    Reply

  4. Posted by angie on December 13, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Good luck with your MRI sweetie!! I’m sorry you’re having to deal with all that but glad you are taking whatever steps (no pun intended) to get it fixed. See you soon!! A

    Reply

Leave a Reply

