5K Wasatch Osteoporosis Race

Date: October 22, 2011

Distance: 5K (3.1 miles)

Time: 29:01

Started the day by running a 5K race with my dog. Or should I say, “spent the morning navigating a race course with my easily distracted dog?”

My physical therapist invited me to run the race since her practice was one of the sponsors of the event and she promised she would also be running. Conveniently, the race was held at Sugar House Park–just a mile-and-a-half away from my house.

The morning was perfect–brisk with clear skies and no winds. My foot felt great and my time was respectable–despite having to manage my dog’s impulsive tendencies the whole time. Here’s what I imagined went through his mind as we ran:

“This is GREAT! So many people to look at any try to greet. Kids in strollers too! I’m sure they want me to come up to them and say ‘hi’. Everyone is running with me. This is fun! Oh, look! A dog up ahead! I’m sure he wants to play with me. Oh, and STOP. I’ve got to sniff this. Oh, never mind. I guess we are running. Look, look! Another dog who is running alongside a bicyclist–I bet I could keep up with them up ahead! Wait a sec. I need to stop and pee. Ok, now I’m ready again. Oh, sure, I’ll stop and get a drink of water. Let’s go again! Yay! This is fun! Can we do this EVERY weekend?!” 

As you can imagine, my pace was NOT consistent and I felt as though I got a great upper-body workout as well with all of the leash tugging I ended up doing.

We had fun, though, enjoyed a beautiful fall morning together, and we have both gotten our workout in for the day.

Now it’s time for laundry, vacuuming, and the many other things on my weekend to-do list…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by angie on October 22, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I love this! It sounds like a happy run 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

