I ran the Hole Half!

Date: September 24, 2011

Distance: 13.1 miles

Time: 2:11:04

Consider Wyoming crossed off the list.

Whirlwind of a trip to Jackson Hole. Orlando and I left Salt Lake City yesterday at about 11:00 a.m. and returned by 5:00 p.m. today.

The five-hour drive was beautiful. We took the westernmost route going up and then came back through Evanston and Park City on the way back. Both routes were filled will autumn-colored mountainsides and the red, orange, and yellow foliage made me wish I hadn’t left my camera’s memory card in my printer at home. Man, I’ve certainly been camera-challenged lately.

It’s been a long time since Orlando and I took some time to go on a road trip sans kids. We enjoyed our journey through the small Idaho and Wyoming towns that boasted populations of 350 and 400 people and we cursed our Garmin throughout. The database is seriously in need of an update!

I was worried about the race since I knew it would be cold and the course map on the website made it seem like a horrible uphill climb the whole way. Yes, there was a continuous elevation gain, but it really wasn’t that daunting. And, despite cold temperatures at the start, things had warmed up nicely by the time I finished.

Only about 150 people ran the full marathon and another 150 ran the half, which made it particularly enjoyable–enough people to always have runners in sight, but never any crowds to navigate through.

Race firsts:

1. First race that has to mail the race medals (guess they didn’t arrive in time for the race so I’ll get mine in about two weeks).

2. First race to give out drink coasters at the end–I guess since they felt a need to hand out SOMETHING as we crossed the finish line!

3. First race to have escaped horses running along the race course with sheriff deputies in pursuit.

4. First race to have “bear warning” signs along the course. Maybe that’s why my time was faster than expected!

5. First race where I had a need to use one of  the porta potties along the course. Mile ten, darn it. Maybe eating that giant steak sandwich the night before the race was not such a great idea.

Without the restroom delay and without having to stop and remove a rock from my shoe at about mile five,  I would have had a faster time by about three minutes. But even with the stops, I’m really happy with my time. I was shooting for sub 2:30 due to the uphill course and my sore ankle and I did much better than that.

I also have the right to give my husband a ton of grief. Since I was so pessimistic about my expected finish time, he wasn’t even at the end when I crossed. He was sure he had another 15 minutes or so before I would arrive so he was still making his way to the finish line.

All-in-all, great race–highly recommended. Next up, the Portland 10K with my Montana mamas. Can’t wait.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like my kind of race Gail! The only problem with your race reports is that you won’t ever go back to “re-do” them until you are done with your bucket list of states:)
    Ha!

    Great time, and wow, what a bunch of fun firsts:)
    This is my favorite time of year. For one, the colors and changes you describe. For two, meeting with the gang in Portland has become something I so look forward to!!!
    Can’t wait to see you.
    Congrats on another great run…
    xo
    Jen

    Reply

  2. Posted by angie on September 25, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Nicely done my dear!! Can’t wait to see you! I’m pretty sure we’ll be bear free 🙂
    I really should go for a walk now.

    Reply

  3. Posted by angie on September 25, 2011 at 10:30 am

    ps – just noticed your personal best for a 10k….you’ll be changing that in 2 weeks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

