Long run

Date: August 28, 2011

Distance: 9.65 miles

Time: 1:56:21 (walked the last .65 mile)

In my haste to get out the door and try to avoid the heat I don’t think I waited long enough for my oatmeal and yogurt to settle. At about mile five, I started getting heartburn. After walking a bit and drinking a ton of water, I felt okay to continue my run. And, it was nice to run in the cooler temperature. I know better than to run so soon after eating. Don’t do it, folks!

Can I just say I love my Garmin? I love being able to simply head out the door and run in any direction, without having to pre-plan and pre-measure a route. So nice. And, I love my city. During my run, just south of my neighborhood and back, I saw dozens of other runners, bicyclists, and dog walkers. I even saw an elderly gentleman out for a morning stroll with his walker. Salt Lake City is a very active community and I find that to be very motivating.

Utah has lots of great full and half marathons too. I know I am missing out on some beautiful races by avoiding the Utah races to “save up” for the out-of-state races.  Oh well. I’ll get to those eventually. Maybe my goal after I knock out all fifty states will be to run all the Utah races I’ve always wanted to run.

Want another song suggestion? “Closer to Free” by the BoDeans. I found this link that also has the words listed. Gotta love a song that includes the accordion. Great, upbeat running tempo and reminds me of my friends, Chip and Jon. Here’s to good friends and good running days!

Leave a Reply

