LSD

Date: July 24, 2011

Distance: 11 miles

Time: 2:30-ish

LSD. Don’t worry, I haven’t been dropping acid. LSD, in this case, refers to “Long Slow Distance.”

Runners sometimes refer to an LSD run, which is a run designed to build mileage when training for a race. Most half and full-marathon training plans include a long run once per week and runners who have a traditional work schedule (me) generally get them in on the weekends. My last LSD before the east coast races was today–now it’s taper, baby!

Taper–another running term that refers to the wonderful time two weeks before a race where all the long training runs are completed and you just do shorter training runs so your body is well-rested and injury-free for the big event. Glorious.

My run today was great, with the exception of a minor pain in my left ankle. Last week I ran in an old pair of shoes that I hadn’t used in months. I know better than that, darn it. I’ll continue to ice it following my runs and I’m sure I’ll be good to go in two weeks. Throw out those old running shoes! Don’t try to squeeze more mileage out of them!

Steven Tyler from Google images

The course I mapped out today took me through two parks–Liberty Park, which I talked about last week, and Sugarhouse Park, which is my old standby. My course also strategically took me past Westminster College, where I work, and allowed for a restroom break about two-thirds of the way through my run. Then, it was past my kids’ high school and up the hill back home. Going uphill at the end of a run is never enjoyable, which is why I ended up walking/running at the end.

As I sometimes like to do, I ran for one song and then walked for one song during those last two miles. Coincidentally, I decided to slow down for a walk  just before “Walk this Way” played on my iPod–the Run DMC version with Aerosmith. I will never forget seeing that video for the first time (MTV days). Love it. It really captures the decade of the 80s and I never seem to get tired of hearing it.

Knowing that I’ve always been an Aerosmith fan, Nis recently sent me Steven Tyler’s autobiography. In there, ST also refers to LSD–the acid kind–(no surprise) and LSD referring to “Lead Singer Disease,” which he freely admits to having. As you can imagine, his ego is huge. Combine that with rampant drug use, no moral compass to speak of, and the crazy rock star life, and you get LSD.  The book provides a fascinating look into the mind of an incorrigible, crazy, genius who is both likeable and detestable at the same time. A New York Times book review summarizes it well. A great summer read that is not for the faint of heart.

Leave a Reply

