Holy Sh*t

Date: September 2, 2009

I was shocked beyond belief to find out that I was expecting a baby. I was 41 years old, busy with three older kids, training for my first full marathon, and certain that my baby days were over. Despite being almost 100% sure that my cycle was off due to the fact that I was training to run my first full marathon, I decided to find out for sure.

On my way home from work, I stopped and purchased a pregnancy test and took it as soon as I got home. It read, “pregnant.” I was in complete disbelief. The first response I got from my friend, Angie (via e-mail), was, “Holy Sh*t.” I must admit, that was my initial response as well. I was in shock. I felt numb. My mind raced. I had the hardest time believing that I was REALLY pregnant.

After I wrapped my head around the reality of the situation, I started to look forward to having a baby. This would also be my husband’s first baby and that made us both very, very happy.

We were unaware, at the time, the emotional toll this experience would take on us when things did not go as planned.

Leave a Reply

