Do I still run a marathon?

Date: September 30, 2009

Not long after I found out I was pregnant, I had my first doctor’s appointment. The doctor was encouraging and positive about the pregnancy, had become a mother herself in her forties, and assured me that, even though I was older, I had already done the best things I could to ensure a healthy pregnancy.

In fact, I was probably in the best health of my life. A dear group of friends and I had planned to run or walk the Portland Marathon and I was in the middle of my training for the race. I felt strong. I felt healthy. I felt great. In fact, I was certain that the reason I was able to become pregnant was because I was in such good health.

I asked her about continuing my training and the possibility of still planning to run the race. Her advice was that, even though I could probably run it, it would be best if  I planned on walking the marathon. I was a little disappointed that I wouldn’t be running the race, but that was okay. Half the group planned on walking it anyway and so I was still really looking forward to the weekend of the race.

About five weeks after I found out I was pregnant, I traveled to Portland for the marathon. After talking with my doctor and researching everything I could on the internet about running and pregnancy, I felt assured that everything would be fine.

Leave a Reply

