2010 Portland Half Marathon

Date: October 10, 2010 (10/10/10)

Time: 2:26:55

This was the second slowest half I have run thus far–only my first race, where I walked for much of it, was slower. It was also bittersweet to return to Portland and meet up with my running friends since I was in a completely different state of mind during the previous year’s race. Still, this group of friends had been with me on the journey and they offered me (and continue to offer me) a great deal of support.

Here’s a race report I wrote just after the race…

_________________________

Yeah! I guess you could say we just returned from the “Second Annual Portland Marathon Hawk Reunion.” Or, maybe someone else can come up with a better name?

First off, I am soooo glad they added a half-marathon option. No way I could bring myself to do the full again. Heather, however, had no fear and was the only one in our group to step up to the full. She is amazing. Seven hours in pouring rain?! She rocked it. Heather, with the horrible conditions, that was REALLY an accomplishment. I wonder how many of the 10,000 people signed up for the full actually finished.

Suze, Anne (our adopted Bozeman Hawk), and Angie joined forces to complete the 10K. Great job, girls!

Todd, Jen, and I did the half marathon. We won’t talk about my time…(second slowest I’ve ever done), but even with the pouring rain, Jen finished in less than two hours!!!! A personal record for her and AMAZING for anyone, in my book. Yay, Jen!

Yes, it POURED the whole race. We were all soaking wet even before the race started. Despite that, we had a great time. Well, at least I did until the race was over and then I started to get cold. I also felt a lot better after we found Todd.

Todd claims to have finished the race, but we aren’t sure we believe him.

What do you think? Here are the facts:

1. We tried calling him when we expected him to be finished but couldn’t get through. Also, he didn’t call us. His excuse had something to do about dropping his iPhone in a puddle and then it wouldn’t work.

2. We tried looking up his status on the race website, but there were no reports from any of the tracking mats along the course. Hmmm. I guess he “conveniently” put the wrong half of his tracking strip on his shoe–the part that you are supposed to discard.

3. When we finally heard from him, he was calling us from his condo and when Angie and I finally got back to his place, he was showered, in dry clothes, and polishing off the previous night’s leftovers.

So, do you think Todd REALLY finished the half marathon or not?

_______________________

He did. And, I’m thrilled to report that he plans to join me and Jen (perhaps others in our group too) for the Santa Barbara Half this fall. I’m really looking forward to that.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by angie on July 14, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Oh my gosh! I totally forgot about losing Todd. Thanks for the reminder and the laugh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

