2010 MT Governor’s Cup Half Marathon

Date: September 19, 2010

Time: 2:16:45

This race, held in Billings, Montana, was the first race I completed after we lost our baby. It’s also the first race I ran with my daughter, Kaitlin. I loved that most of all. I hope to run additional races with her through the years.

Jen, one of my running pals from the Portland races, and Denise and her son also joined us.

I grew up in Montana and getting back to Billings to run a race was nostalgic. I experienced hamstring cramps for the first time ever during this race, but I powered through it. I didn’t feel great following the race–Kait had no problem beating me–but it felt good to return to racing.

Therapeutic. Healing.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by angie on July 14, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Hey sweetie – you didn’t put this race on your 50 state list? You actually forgot Montana šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

