2007 Las Vegas Half Marathon

Date: December 2, 2007

Time: 2:13:03

This race remains one of the most enjoyable I’ve done–but mostly because it was part of a week-long vacation in Vegas, with friends. So fun.

Denise and her husband, Mike, joined me and my husband for a kid-free week in sin city. Need I say more?

Here were the highlights:

1. Elvis impersonator singing “Viva Las Vegas” at the starting line that also included a fireworks display.

2. Race course along the Las Vegas strip–lined with musical performances and even The Blue Man Group.

3. Dozens of couples who got married during the race at about mile six, if I recall correctly.

4. Grabbing a beer and hitting the slots immediately after the race–still wrapped in the post-race metallic blanket.

5. Eating at In-and-Out Burger for the first time ever as my post-race recovery meal.

6. Learning how to play three card poker (thanks, Mike, for teaching us)–and then going out to win over $300 at the tables.

7. My BFF proclaiming (after several celebratory post-race drinks late into the night) that, “I’m so fun when I’m drunk!”

___________________________

I have to agree, she WAS fun, but not only after drinking. I’m looking forward to a similar, fun-filled, weekend with BFF and our husbands this August on the east coast. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

